Home > The blog > Reader rights

Reader rights

Some days ago, I was commenting on those typical copyright notes that we get when we buy a paper book. One of them showed a glimpse about simply reading the book, it could lead to commit a crime by copyright infraction.

As I do not want to become a criminal by the simple fact of reading a book, I’ve just sent this letter to the publisher in order to return the book and get my money back. Moreover, I sent copies to the publisher’s partners:
Publicacions de l’ Ajuntament de Barcelona (Barcelona’s city council publishing) , Associació per a la Promoció i la Inserció Professional (APIP) (Organization for Labour Insertion and Promotion), Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona (Center for Contemporary Culture of Barcelona) and Institut de Govern i Polítiques Públiques (Public Policy and Governing Institute).
I just have to contact the authors, Joan Subirats and Joaquim Rius. We will keep informing.

To the attention of Mr. Josep Ricou Barceló, CEO of “Amics i autors de les divulgacions culturals d’ Editorial Hacer S.L.” (Friends and Authors of culture disclosure of Hacer Editorial Ltd.)

Mister Ricou,

Some time ago I bought, at CCCB’s shop, one book published by Hacer Editorial. It is “Del xino al raval”, written by Joan Subirats and Joaquim Rius.
I got that book to make some research for a little historical essay on the city of Barcelona. Regrettably, and for reasons of no matter now, I had to abandon that project.

I am trying to recover it now, so when I started to read the book in the matter, I noticed the copyright notes which usually are carried by paper books. More than anything to be aware about what can I do and what can not be done.

The copyright note within “Del xino al raval” really astonished me, because it forbids explicitly any reproduction, recording nor transmission using any system which recovers information, in any way or method, being it mechanical, photo-chemical, electronic, magnetic, electro-optical, by photocopy or anyone else, without prior permission from the publisher.

I must confess that I am a respectful citizen, who abides to the law, conscious of my rights and duties, and with a list of values which I’ve been building with time.
Those values include zero tolerance to abusive copyright or “author rights” notes. Because of that, and after asking some medical experts whom confirmed me that human eye is a photo-chemical and electro-optical information recovery system, I’m obliged to return the book to Hacer Editorial Ltd., and it must be said that I expect getting my €8 back.

I deeply feel sorry for the authors, Mr. Subirats and Mr. Rius, whom now will have to return their part from the royalties earned with this copy, now returned. If you tell me some way to contact them, I will be glad to tell them personally about all this issue.
Truly, I’d rather remain as a law-respectful citizen and return a book, than become a criminal by the simple fact of reading it and thus breaking and infringe the note on intellectual property.

This letter does not exclude the possibility that, if in the future Hacer Editorial publishes some books able to be processed by a photo-chemical and electro-optical information recovery system, meaning able to be read by a human, I would buy one. Even more, I explicitly cede my contact information (email address) to Hacer Editorial Ltd. in order to contact me if this happens.
But, any other use different from what is being told now, or apart from the reception of an answer to this letter (which I really wait), will be considered as unsolicited email, fact which could incur in manifest infraction of Ley Orgánica 15/1999, de 13 de diciembre, de Protección de Datos de Carácter Personal (Personal Data Protection Law), Ley 34/2002, de 11 de julio, de Servicios de la Sociedad de la Información y de Comercio Electrónico (Information Society and Electronic Commerce Law) and/or any other law approved in the future. Such infraction will be reported to the proper authorities.

Get my regards and my best wishes for this summer,

Arnau Fuentes Esteller

  1. June 15, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    Reply from Hacer Editorial Ltd.:

    Dear sir:

    With reference to your letter from June 9th, in which you tell us your intention to return the book “Del xino al raval” because you interpret that the reserve of rights note prevents from reading it without committing a crime, we are glad to say that:

    1. The cited note of rights reservation is a standard formula trying to prevent indiscriminate reproduction of the text we publish (in any case their reading) and which have as a goal to watch over the rights of our authors.

    2. Our interest has been always maximum spreading of the texts we publish and the fact of asking for written permission ro reproduce them, totally or partially, implies systematic denial of those permits. More over, in your case, as other ones, it is a pleasure to study and grant a permission to reproduce some piece of some of our publications if with that we get a wider diffusion of it.

    Finally, regrettinfg the confusion by the cited rights note, we inform that for us, the reading of a book can not in any case be confused with its reproduction, recording or transmission, and so we never would take legal action against those who read our publications. In any case, and for your own peace of mind, with this letter we grant you the Publisher’s written permission to read all our published texts and the ones we will publish in the future.

    My sincere regards:

    Josep Ricou

  1. June 15, 2010 at 12:17 pm

Leave a Reply

